Last Updated on 3 weeks by Try Plain Jane
In addition to the federal hemp laws laid out in the 2018 Farm Bill, each state has its own state hemp laws. Before we dive in on Arkansas Hemp Laws and the legality of CBD in Arkansas, it is important to understand the different types of hemp and CBD products that these laws may be applied to.
There are many (somewhat confusing) terms for hemp oil:
- Isolate or THC-Free Hemp Oil has only CBD and all other plant compounds have been removed, THC is undetectable. Pure CBD Isolate can also be purchased in powder form.
- Full-Spectrum Hemp Oil has all plant compounds, including less than 0.3% THC.
- Broad-Spectrum Hemp Oil has undetectable THC, but contains other plant compounds.
- PCR (Phytocannabinoid-Rich) Hemp Oil with Zero-THC is a new marketing term for broad-spectrum hemp oil.
- CBG Hemp Oil is a hemp oil from a cannabigerol (CBG) rich hemp strain that has more CBG than is found in CBD Hemp Oil.
- Hemp Flower is the dried and harvested flower of the hemp plant. It can be used whole or extracted to make CBD isolate, Full-Spectrum CBD, or Broad-Spectrum CBD (PCR Hemp Oil).
FAQ: Hemp and CBD Legality in Arkansas
Is Full Spectrum CBD Legal in Arkansas?
That is a trick question because full-spectrum CBD is not the same as the so-called PCR Hemp Oil! This new marketing term is certainly introducing even more confusion around CBD products.
Arkansas hemp laws do not restrict CBD products except to require total THC content under 0.3% (decarboxylated THCA + delta-9-THC). Most CBD products appear to be legal to buy and sell in Arkansas.
Is It Legal to Ship PCR Hemp Oil to Arkansas?
It is legal to ship ALL types of hemp products with less than 0.3% THC to all US States according to the 2018 Farm Bill.
Where to Buy Full Spectrum CBD Oil in Arkansas?
Arkansas hemp laws do not regulate CBD sales, so you can buy CBD online or in stores.
Do you need a special license to purchase PCR Hemp Oil in Arkansas?
You don’t need a special license to purchase CBD hemp oil (all types) in Arkansas, only to grow, test, or sell products.
How Does Arkansas Legally Define Hemp?
“Industrial hemp” means all parts and varieties of the plant Cannabis sativa L.Arkansas Industrial Hemp Act
and any part of such plant cultivated or possessed by a licensed grower, whether
growing or not, with a delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) concentration of not more
than 0.3 percent on a dry weight basis.
Growing and Selling Hemp in Arkansas
Arkansas hemp growers and handlers must be registered and licensed with the state. The Arkansas Department of Agriculture oversees Arkansas hemp laws like The Arkansas Industrial Hemp Act. The state has a detailed hemp program but does not regulate CBD products, except to require that they contain less than 0.3% total THC (delta-9-THC plus decarboxylase THCA).
Hemp and CBD products must comply with Arkansas hemp laws:
- Products must contain no more than 0.3% THC
- The THC must be reported as “total THC”
- Products must come from a registered farm
- Products must be tested by a licensed laboratory
Arkansas state hemp laws allow for CBD products such as:
- Hemp topicals
- Hemp concentrates and extracts (oils and tinctures)
- Industrial hemp for building or fiber materials
- Industrial hempseed (food product)
- Industrial hempseed oil (food product)